Skip to main content

United legends earn late draw in Munich

Manchester United legends faced an all-star Bayern Munich side with hopes of recreating the epic scenes of the 1999 Champions League final.

| by Katie Newton

United Legends earn draw in Munich

United stars from the past 20 seasons, including Denis Irwin, Paul Scholes, Phil Neville, Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke, took to the pitch and rolled back the years to show flickers of the magic often seen on display at the Theatre of Dreams.

The team faced a Munich side, led by World Cup winner and former West Germany captain Paul Breitner, whose team included the likes of Van Bommel, Sergio and Zickler. The current Bayern Munich squad were also in attendance for an open training session, which was held in front of 70,000 fans before kick-off.

Earlier in the day the United legends made a trip to the Munich memorial site to remember the Busby Babes and pay their respects to passengers of the Munich air disaster in 1958.  John Shiels, Manchester United Foundation chief executive said, “The Munich tragedy really defined the club.  Our resilience and strength in the face of such adversity has always been one of our strongest characteristics. It was an emotional visit, and it really puts everything into perspective. I found it really moving and a very spiritual place.”

The annual legends matches, organised by Manchester United Foundation, are played at home and away over the course of two seasons and are used to help to raise funds for each clubs charitable foundation. The return leg will take place at Old Trafford in the summer of 2015.

Saturday 9 August, Allianz Arena

(Paulo Sergio 10, Elber 21, Zicker 38)

(Cole 9,83 Scholes 26)

Manchester United Legends: Kuszczak, Martin, Irwin, Johnson, Cole, Dublin, Blomqvist, P Neville, Scholes (cap), Yorke, Fortune.

Subs: Robson, Silvestre, Thornley

Bayern Munich Legends: Hans-Jörg Butt , Markus Babbel, Hans Pflügler, Oliver Kreuzer, Paulo Sergio, Mark Van Bommel, Hans Pflügler, Robert Kovac, Paul Breitner (cap), Olaf Thon, Giovane Elber, Alexander Zickler

Subs: Harald, Walter Junghans, Michael Tarnat, Marcel Witeczek, Maurizio Gaudino, Michael Rummenigge